Monday, 18 February 2013

Earrings

I used to think that big earrings and short hair don't go together. However, after years of having short hair and not wearing my lovely earrings... I decided to try it.

Crazy enough, I didn't hate it!

These earrings are the most AWESOME earrings I have ever had, and ever will have!

Monday, 11 February 2013

Those damn commercials

Everytime I see a commercial for some kind of hair product I get kind of discouraged about growing my hair out. They always have women with the most beautiful hair. And a lot of it...

like this...

or this

Now, I know that the hair gets done in a professional way, with lots of mousse, hairspray and the use of a blowdryer, but even if I decide I want to go through all of this hassle I never get the volume, or it's gone after two steps. That's the reality of having very fine hair. Sure I have a big head full of it, but still there's nothing to do about it's lack of volume. All I ever manage is to make it look a bit like this: icky because of all the products used, and still no volume:

swivvle, because you're worth it

These commercials are a good example of good advertisement. I mean, how many women think about the hour these women in the commercials spent in hair and make-up? They associate the good looking hair with the product and they buy it.

Wednesday, 6 February 2013

New toy!!!

Today I got a new toy: The Galaxy tab 2


Haven't had much time to explore it yet, but it looks snazzy!
Ordered a sleeve and a usb kitt for it today, getting it tomorrow so I can use it for my study next week =)

Tuesday, 5 February 2013

After the Cut

So I went to the hairdresser today, much in a hurry because I also had to go to classes on time.

Here it is:


So basically it's just a bit shorter so I can wear it in different ways now and the different layers don't differ too much in length anymore. Yay for shaven sides! =P

Now I can just let it grow for a while.

Monday, 4 February 2013

New haircut tomorrow

I'm going to get my hair cut tomorrow to even out the layers a bit. It'll be a bit shorter, but it's necessary to get it to grow out normal.

This is my current haircut:


I'll see if I can get a picture of my hair when it's cut. =)

Saturday, 2 February 2013

A night out

Last night was the closing night of the open week of the student-organization I'm a member of. This organization is a bit like the sororities/fraternities in the US, only in Holland and with mixed genders. Also, this organization is known for their alternative members and the lack of obligations (besides paying contribution every year).

This night was all 007 themed. And so was the dinner. 5 courses for 5 euro's, and let me tell you: It was amazing!

First course:
 

The course was named Golden Eye. This is a little profiterole filled with artichokes cream and ham. The vegetarian version had dried tomatoes instead of ham.

Second Course:
 
 

Mr. White. A lovely soup from cauliflower and broccoli, accompanied with home-made bread and garlic butter. (I already ate the bread here, but who can resist fresh and fluffy bread with garlic butter? I know I can't)

Third course:

Thunderball: a spicy quiche with tomato and chorizo (which is just sausage). For the vegetarians there were quiches with tomato and feta.

Fourth course:

The spangled mob: lasagna with roasted vegetables and salad. (Though I never did see that salad, I guess they forgot about it).

And lastly, course number five, the dessert:


Shaken, not stirred: The little cup has chocolate mousse with a grape in it, served together with raspberry icecream and a bit of what I believe was melon.

And they say students don't eat well ;) They always have lovely food at our organization, cooked with care by volunteering members. They even make separate dishes for the vegetarians, vegan's and people with any kind of allergy. They are amazing!

After this dinner there naturally was a 007 party, which also led to most of the guys showing up in a nice suit, where they normally wear black band-shirts and alternative skater-pants or jeans and the girls wearing nice gowns as opposed to converse shoes and skinny jeans.

Friday, 1 February 2013

New Windows

So I've been working with Windows 8 for a few weeks now. I have to say that it's pretty easy to work with.
You have a glitzy new start screen, it's like the start button in the previous windows, only now it has a separate screen with apps.

Not my start screen (obviously), thank google.com images ^^

Now, I find this a little pointless. Most of the apps I don't use and most of the standard ones that were there (like the mail, chat etc.) I deleted.
The mail app might be easy if you just want to see your in-box, but there's no unwanted mailbox in that app, like on your smartphone. For those of us who have newsletters that they do want to read in their unwanted mailbox, this is not handy. In fact it's a little frustrating.

You still have your regular desktop, which I use most of the time. Sure, there's an explorer app on the startscreen, but f*ck! It's annoying! Sure, it looks nice, and I found that it really resembles browsing on your smartphone, but I'm the kind of person who has 3 internet pages open, a word document (or two) and some PDF files, and having the possibility to split your screen to fit two apps on it is just not enough. (Plus I haven't yet figured out how you can get it sized the way I want, because now the division is just not working for me)
The only significant change is that you turn your computer off (or to sleeping mode) by moving your cursor to either corner on the right side of the screen and click power. To go back to the start screen you go to the down left corner. Easy enough.


again credits to google.com images

All in all, it's not a bad version, or a bad change. I just don't really see the point. So what I keep on wondering about Window 8 is: WHY?

There are two downsides I found out about Windows 8:
1. It's not compatible with Avast! free antivirus. (NOOOOO!!! it gives you a lovely, updated blue screens of death, and aparantly the problem is somewhat complicated because Avast! has known about the problem for some time and they are still working on fixing it.)



2. The program my university uses is not compatible with Windows 8, so I need to check my grades and enroll for courses on a different computer. (That's not why I have a laptop, sweety!)

Anyone who thinks differently about Windows 8 and want to share why? I'd love to hear it ^^