Tuesday, 20 August 2013

Internship!

Hello everybody!

It's been a while since I last blogged. That's because I've been really, well, busy. First celebrating the summer holiday, then searching for an internship and all of a sudden, BAM, I found one. I got started right away!

It's at a hostess- and modelling agency in Amsterdam called Buck Models. I get to do a lot with the marketing for the agency and so far it's been really great. Really awesome people (though a little intimidating as they all have some experience in modelling and they look extremely good =P ) and I've been learning a lot of things.

Check out the website here: www.buckmodels.nl

me at work in the Buck Models office


BTW: we are working on an English version of the website. I'm doing the translation, but I still need to tweak a few things. So if you are interested, but don't know Dutch: there is an English version coming, but of course before that time we will gladly be of service. Just send an e-mail to info@buckmodels.nl and we will send you a reply as soon as possible!

Love, the new marketing intern =)

Friday, 5 July 2013

The hell called bra shopping

Most girls I know are a major fan of lingerie shopping. One of my best friends has a panties fetish. I swear, the girl has enough panties to wear a fresh one each day of the year and not have to do the laundry inbetween. XP
I couldn't be any different from most girls... I absolutely loathe lingerie shopping. I have no sets, but enough hipsters in navy blue, white, grey and black to keep me satisfied and in fresh panties all the time. Ok, my sin is wearing Snoopy hipsters as well, sue me =P For really special occasions I have some neat hipsters with lace at the top (white, black, turquoise, navy blue and one in red ^^). Basically my panties need to be comfy and not show under my clothing (this goes for one particular champane coloured dress, for which I now have a special skin tight dress that I wear underneath)

However, the thing that makes me loathe lingerie shopping is the bras. Now this has a special reason, because at the very beginning (you know when I only just had to buy bras) I did like it. The thing is that none of the bras I ever had were comfy. I soon felt like they were torture devices and I had to pull the back down every 2 minutes.


On the left is how it shouldn't be. THAT's how all of my bras were; on the tightest hook. I didn't know what to do about it, because the ladies in the shop measured me and surely they knew what they were doing? Well, NOT!
I had my mom measure me: turns out they did it all wrong. I also know why now, because I have a very nice size called 28F (sometimes E). In Holland (60G sometimes F) this is a size unknown to bra manufacturers and therefore the stores do not stock this. This inevitably leads to those ladies purposely measuring me bigger in order to make a sale.
Most stores do not sell bras under 70 band measure in Holland, some may have 65, but not above a B cup (C if you're very lucky). This is a BIG problem for me.

I have sent sooooo many e-mails to stores (e.g. Hunkemoller, Triumph, Livera) asking if they could get me a bra in my size. Most of the time I never received an answer, the rest of the time they say that it doesn't exist because no one has that size (which is rediculous because I do, and I don't believe I'm the only one).
For all Dutchies who have the same size: I recommend Farfallina.nl, they have some bras in size 60 (they don't go smaller than a D cup though) and sometimes you can e-mail them and ask if they can get a certain bra in your size.

On top of my sizing problem I have a few other demands: I want padded/moulded cups and a half-cup/balconnet style. Which certainly does not make my search for a bra any easier, because most bras with a D cup or larger do not have any padding/moulding.

But my saving angel is a British brand: Curvy Kate!!!!! I ordered my first one from farfallina.nl:
 

 

 


 
I love this bra! It was such a revelation when I first put it on. I couldn't get it further than the loosest hook and the cups fit perfectly (this shape is so great, nice and round like my actual breasts are. So unlike the bras I have from Cleo by Panache which are more pointy). When I moved around I didn't have to stop every few minutes to pull the back down, because it stayed in place!!! =D
Immediately after I ordered another one:
 

Where the first one was a black/white Tease Me bra, this is a Thrill Me. I have this one in a cup size bigger and it fits a little looser around the back, but I still love it.

Both bras are so comfy and pretty (though the Tease Me is mercilessly poking me in the right side at the moment)!
As I don't have a creditcard, I asked my uncle to order 2 other ones from amazon.co.uk (oh, internet and online shopping what would I do without you!?!?!) and him being the most awesome uncle alive did so. Now I only have to wait for them to arrive ^^

These are the ones I'm getting.

I'll leave this blog with one last note: Curvy Kate is really the perfect brand for women with curves, whether your curves are a modest D cup or a royal H cup these bras make your curves look fab!
I actually like the look of these bras better the bigger the cups get. For reference, here's a model with a smaller cup size:

Just let me say that I have nothing against smaller chests (in fact they are far more practical for quite a lot of reasons), but these bras just look better when they're filled royally.

That's my rant for the time being. Again anyone in Holland with an insane combination of sizes (like mine) or for bigger girls who want pretty bras I recommend you check out www.farfallina.nl they have so many things!

Later!!




Tuesday, 2 July 2013

First step into hairdressing...

Today I did something that I have never tried before: I cut someone else's hair! Now I'm not afraid to put the hairdresser scissors' to my own hair, because if I mess up it's my own fault and walking around with it for 4 weeks until I can fix it is a small price to pay, but someone else's hair...

But, luckily for my mother, I did a fine job. If I may say so myself. It's the right length, straight (most importantly!) and after that I dyed it. That however is something I've done to myself and others plenty of times.

Whether this is my first step into hairdressing... well, I already  made up my mind that I was doing my own hair (saves money and I know what I want, but someone else never quite gets it right) this just proves I can do it to others too =P haha! No I don't think I'm dropping out of uni just yet, especially with only one year to go! ^^ But it's always nice to be able to help someone out when they're short on cash for a hairdresser. I'm not trying my hand on completely new haircuts yet, just a trim. I managed to get my own layeres freshened up pretty good (I'll admit I took off a little bit more than I intended, but it still looks good, you know, as if I intended it like this). I'm completely confident now that I can pull of a diy sidecut once my hair grows out. =)

Enough of my rant. Tomorrow's an exciting day. Meeting up with a friend for a movie and a date later that evening. I'm strangely looking forward to it =)

Later!! =3

Saturday, 27 April 2013

Even more hair

Seems like this is all I think about. And truth be told, at this moment I do think about it a lot. Being in the process of growing it out tends to do that with a person I suppose. XD

Yesterday I cut the back of my hair again, as it was becoming a little mullety. I did cut a small piece at the left side of the back a little shorter than the rest, but my mom didn't notice it until she inspected my hairline thoroughly. I have done these kinds of trimms often and I have also cut my own fringe on one occasion. It was only ever so slightly not completely straight. People even had a hard time believing that I cut it myself. My hairdresser even complimented me on my work when I decided to go get an A-line bob.

Recently I have bought some hair shears. I have to mention that it is rediculously difficult to find those for the left-handed. AND when you DO find them, they're also rediculously expensive. Something should be done about that. But to get back on topic: I intend to do my own hair. At least while growing it out and maybe when I wanna get a crazy new cut.

I have read on the web about some easy haircuts for layered hair. On youtube I have watched a number of tutorials for this and I found that, even though it looked pretty good on the people who did it, I don't like it. It basically means you put your hair in a ponytail at your hairline in the front and cut a part straight off. This creates a V-shaped back and that is something I do not want. My hair is thin already, no need to make it looke even thinner. Finding tutorials to get the back straight is a little harder, but they are out there. Just not for layers. Hmmmm.... I find the comments that some people (mostly hairdressers) leave a little drastic. Why should you not try it? It can look good, it's a great way to save money and honestly it isn't difficult at all. If you have watched your hairdresser a couple of times you'll know how easy it really is to cut a proper looking haircut yourself. As long as you're patient, precise and keep a good eye on your reflection it can hardly go wrong in my opinion.

The plan for my own hair at the moment is letting it grow out in a layered cut until it's about shoulder-length (or maybe just past my chin I haven't decided yet) then cut a side cut in it. Yes, you heard read right. I'm gonna get hipster hair... I don't know why they call it that, it's been around since before I was born, even before there were hipsters. I just like it, I don't know what a freaking hipster is, nor do I care to find out. Screw labels! Everybody should just be themselves and let everyone be who they are. No stereotypes, no labels, no whatever.

Just to end with a nice pic of what I want:

Monday, 25 March 2013

Hair update

So, I've been reading a lot about how to care for your hair and stuff. So most things I have already been doing right: no heating, shampoo + conditioner, but not too often.

On the no chemicals... well, I'm guilty as charged. I dye my hair... A lot! (And recently did so again, since I had half a pack left over and thought I'd better use it before my hair got too long. It almost was already -_- ) I have however decided I would put the dye away for a while (See how long that's going to last)

For the rest I guess the only thing I can do is be patient and try not to get annoyed by my hair. I have stocked up on hairclips, pins and scarves and have dusted off my headbands. I am ready to go ;)

Since my September haircut I think my hair has grown a good 7cm (or about 3.5 inches). So my hair has grown according to the average growth rate of about a cm (1/2 an inch) a month. Which is pretty good.

One surprising tip I found was excercise. The theory is that it stimulates blood circulation and that will stimulate the scalp and hairgrowth. I'm having trouble buying that, but I have been intending to start excercizing again (I bought those weights and yoga matt for a reason) and I'm pretty sure that it can't hurt. So maybe now I'll actually get started.

Many people also recommend taking biotin. After some digging I found that it has never been proven effective, however, there don't seem to be any down sides to taking it, so I'm going to try that too.

Monday, 18 February 2013

Earrings

I used to think that big earrings and short hair don't go together. However, after years of having short hair and not wearing my lovely earrings... I decided to try it.

Crazy enough, I didn't hate it!

These earrings are the most AWESOME earrings I have ever had, and ever will have!

Monday, 11 February 2013

Those damn commercials

Everytime I see a commercial for some kind of hair product I get kind of discouraged about growing my hair out. They always have women with the most beautiful hair. And a lot of it...

like this...

or this

Now, I know that the hair gets done in a professional way, with lots of mousse, hairspray and the use of a blowdryer, but even if I decide I want to go through all of this hassle I never get the volume, or it's gone after two steps. That's the reality of having very fine hair. Sure I have a big head full of it, but still there's nothing to do about it's lack of volume. All I ever manage is to make it look a bit like this: icky because of all the products used, and still no volume:

swivvle, because you're worth it

These commercials are a good example of good advertisement. I mean, how many women think about the hour these women in the commercials spent in hair and make-up? They associate the good looking hair with the product and they buy it.

Wednesday, 6 February 2013

New toy!!!

Today I got a new toy: The Galaxy tab 2


Haven't had much time to explore it yet, but it looks snazzy!
Ordered a sleeve and a usb kitt for it today, getting it tomorrow so I can use it for my study next week =)

Tuesday, 5 February 2013

After the Cut

So I went to the hairdresser today, much in a hurry because I also had to go to classes on time.

Here it is:


So basically it's just a bit shorter so I can wear it in different ways now and the different layers don't differ too much in length anymore. Yay for shaven sides! =P

Now I can just let it grow for a while.

Monday, 4 February 2013

New haircut tomorrow

I'm going to get my hair cut tomorrow to even out the layers a bit. It'll be a bit shorter, but it's necessary to get it to grow out normal.

This is my current haircut:


I'll see if I can get a picture of my hair when it's cut. =)

Saturday, 2 February 2013

A night out

Last night was the closing night of the open week of the student-organization I'm a member of. This organization is a bit like the sororities/fraternities in the US, only in Holland and with mixed genders. Also, this organization is known for their alternative members and the lack of obligations (besides paying contribution every year).

This night was all 007 themed. And so was the dinner. 5 courses for 5 euro's, and let me tell you: It was amazing!

First course:
 

The course was named Golden Eye. This is a little profiterole filled with artichokes cream and ham. The vegetarian version had dried tomatoes instead of ham.

Second Course:
 
 

Mr. White. A lovely soup from cauliflower and broccoli, accompanied with home-made bread and garlic butter. (I already ate the bread here, but who can resist fresh and fluffy bread with garlic butter? I know I can't)

Third course:

Thunderball: a spicy quiche with tomato and chorizo (which is just sausage). For the vegetarians there were quiches with tomato and feta.

Fourth course:

The spangled mob: lasagna with roasted vegetables and salad. (Though I never did see that salad, I guess they forgot about it).

And lastly, course number five, the dessert:


Shaken, not stirred: The little cup has chocolate mousse with a grape in it, served together with raspberry icecream and a bit of what I believe was melon.

And they say students don't eat well ;) They always have lovely food at our organization, cooked with care by volunteering members. They even make separate dishes for the vegetarians, vegan's and people with any kind of allergy. They are amazing!

After this dinner there naturally was a 007 party, which also led to most of the guys showing up in a nice suit, where they normally wear black band-shirts and alternative skater-pants or jeans and the girls wearing nice gowns as opposed to converse shoes and skinny jeans.

Friday, 1 February 2013

New Windows

So I've been working with Windows 8 for a few weeks now. I have to say that it's pretty easy to work with.
You have a glitzy new start screen, it's like the start button in the previous windows, only now it has a separate screen with apps.

Not my start screen (obviously), thank google.com images ^^

Now, I find this a little pointless. Most of the apps I don't use and most of the standard ones that were there (like the mail, chat etc.) I deleted.
The mail app might be easy if you just want to see your in-box, but there's no unwanted mailbox in that app, like on your smartphone. For those of us who have newsletters that they do want to read in their unwanted mailbox, this is not handy. In fact it's a little frustrating.

You still have your regular desktop, which I use most of the time. Sure, there's an explorer app on the startscreen, but f*ck! It's annoying! Sure, it looks nice, and I found that it really resembles browsing on your smartphone, but I'm the kind of person who has 3 internet pages open, a word document (or two) and some PDF files, and having the possibility to split your screen to fit two apps on it is just not enough. (Plus I haven't yet figured out how you can get it sized the way I want, because now the division is just not working for me)
The only significant change is that you turn your computer off (or to sleeping mode) by moving your cursor to either corner on the right side of the screen and click power. To go back to the start screen you go to the down left corner. Easy enough.


again credits to google.com images

All in all, it's not a bad version, or a bad change. I just don't really see the point. So what I keep on wondering about Window 8 is: WHY?

There are two downsides I found out about Windows 8:
1. It's not compatible with Avast! free antivirus. (NOOOOO!!! it gives you a lovely, updated blue screens of death, and aparantly the problem is somewhat complicated because Avast! has known about the problem for some time and they are still working on fixing it.)



2. The program my university uses is not compatible with Windows 8, so I need to check my grades and enroll for courses on a different computer. (That's not why I have a laptop, sweety!)

Anyone who thinks differently about Windows 8 and want to share why? I'd love to hear it ^^

Thursday, 31 January 2013

Welcome!

Hello everybody!
Welcome to my brand new blog! =)

Let me introduce myself: I'm Jade. I have been reading several blogs here and there and made the crazy decision to make one myself. Though I have no clue yet what I will be writing in here, but I promise to make it as fun and interesting as I can.

So far it seems to me that in the blogging world there are hypes and trends like everywhere else. And at the moment one of those trends is the pixie cut. Which is something that happens to be right up my alley. For years I have had several short haircuts. It's very easy and if you want to save on visits to the hairdresser: short hair is my answer (on a sidenote: I cut my own mullet off. It's not that hard with a proper mirror and proper scissors)
Some were mores succesfull than others.

This is a particulair haircut I'm not too proud of. This was back in 2006, before the whole pixie cut became a trend. Obviously it was a bit too short for me.

I always wish I had long hair when it's short, and when I finally grow my hair out. You guessed it: I want to cut those damn locks off!
So I've had long hair, short hair and went back to long hair. My latest haircut was inspired by a very unlikely person (*cough* Miley Cyrus *cough*), I'm a little ashamed to admit this, but it has been a very, very awesome cut for me.

You can't see the shaven sides here, but it looked very awesome. I got this haircut in October and haven't really gotten a trim since then (except to get rid of the mullet forming at the back of my neck). The only thing that's getting in the way of growing it out into a short bob are those shaven sides.

BUT, now comes the most important part, the part that makes this blog different from the others: I have never experienced an awkward inbetween haircut. I have no clue what people talk about when they talk about those awkward phases, I only know about those boring phases, where nothing is really possible with my hair. I can't put it up, but I can't gell/wax it in a funky 'do either. And that is when the scissors start calling.

So if anyone has tips to resist the scissors: I would love to hear them, because in the past 8 years I have failed on all occasions I tried growing my hair. Now I'm starting another attempt to grow it out. See if I can get past the shoulder-length phase.